Helen Blair Simpson Receives the ACNP Julius Axelrod Mentorship Award

December 1, 2020

The American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) has named Columbia Psychiatry’s Helen Blair Simpson, M.D., Ph.D., as the recipient of the 2020 Julius Axelrod Mentorship Award. Dr. Simpson is a pioneering psychiatrist and clinical researcher who is committed to advancing treatments for people with obsessive-compulsive disorder and related disorders so that these people can live productive lives. Her work ranges from treatment development to clinical trials to brain imaging and animal studies in collaboration with basic scientists to help us better understand the brain mechanisms of OCD.

The Axelrod Mentorship Award, being presented at the 59th Virtual Annual Meeting of the ACNP, is awarded to an ACNP member who has made an outstanding contribution to neuropsychopharmacology by mentoring and developing young scientists into leaders in the field. Click here to read more.


Julius Axelrod Mentorship Award